If I Were A Rich Girl…

So I came across this little piece of news on Yahoo this morning. In which they explain about the Woolworth Mansion being for rent in NYC.  It’s a paltry $150,000.00 a month but comes furnished with an historic flair. Oh if only I had the money for such luxury.

Seriously though, I love the more Gilded Age homes with Victorian elements. I toured several in Newport, Rhode Island when I was a teenager and the impact they made upon me has remained over the years. They influence my writing and play a large role in my love of steampunk. I have a big imagination. It seems only natural to me that I would fixate on the grandiose than to limit myself. Dream big or not at all, right? A running theme for me has always been champagne tastes on a pauper’s budget. It likely will always be so given the state of our economy and the profession I’ve chosen. However, I make do.

The book has been purchased by quite a few people now. I’m excited about it. People are quick to let me know when they are enjoying it which is awesome. I love hearing from them. And I know I will eventually be answering questions about it here on the blog. That is something that I look forward to actually. So, if you have a question, feel free to contact me with it.

It has been a pretty eventful end of the summer/ start of the fall season here. I am looking forward to working on a new project and have already started with serious revisions on notes and character sketches to iron out the details for the new series that I’m planning. But, I’m also looking forward to some shorter work as well to fill in a gap or two. If you want to keep up with the freebies, you’ll have to follow the facebook page though. I’ve been planning some shorter pieces that indulge my love of steampunk and build on my experience in the field of paranormal research.

That being said, let me just take a moment to address an issue that I know will come up.

It seems that regardless of what you write, there is some expectation on the part of critics that all writers are somehow literary geniuses and have tapped into some higher authority that makes everything they write some social or political statement. I remember sitting in a Humanities class in college and having this discussion among the students and the professor with a great deal of agitation.

What I write is for entertainment value. I don’t aim to make any sort of statement with it. My goal is to tell a great story that makes my readers want to use their imagination and escape all the social and political fiascoes that they are bombarded with every day. If you’re looking for something metaphorical, I suggest you read some of the classics that have been time tested to provide that sort of insight. As for my work, I want people to enjoy the story the same way they would a movie.

Escape a little while. Identify with a character. Fall in love with Walsingham Manor or Slauson Cove. But above all else; enjoy the experience of seeing the world through Elora’s eyes. Don’t pick it to death as a statement of my views on politics or social standing. I didn’t put any of that into it. I did put in what was more intriguing to the story with the intent to keep the readers turning the pages (I hope).

With that, I’ll move on with the day and the clacking on the keyboard to continue building a story for my next release.

Have a fabulous Thursday everyone!

About Samantha Tiner

Researcher, Speaker, & Author of Speculative Supernatural Suspense Fiction.

Posted on September 6, 2012, in Fiction Projects, Observations, The Writer's Life, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment