Organizing The Creative Life…

I live in a little two-bedroom duplex at the moment. It isn’t a house. We hear the neighbor’s kids all the time. We hear them banging things around. (I’m sure they get tired of hearing Lee’s surround sound as well. I know I do.) But, the space is okay for now. I think that, after two and a half years of living here, we need to do something to spruce the place up though. There isn’t much that you can do in a rental unit.  I would love to be able to paint and change the carpet but, I can’t.

I’ve been sidetracked trying to figure out a way to reclaim the front of the house from our attempt at a candle business. (Great product but we weren’t able to market enough and will likely be a while before we can attempt to do it again.) There is a shelf taking up much of our space in there that is full of boxes, supplies, and various odds and ends. My husband likes for things to appear neat at least. So there are various things neatly stacked which could have been thrown out. Guess who gets to go through it all and listen to griping when I want to throw it away? Yep, you guessed it, me. Doing that and removing the shelf to the utility room is going to be the only way to reclaim that area though.

East Kentucky I grew up in these hills.

Fall always seems to bring out the nesting side of me. I think it comes from all the years living with my mom who started decorating for holidays around this time of the year. Halloween is just around the corner and it was one of the big ones for us. Mom always did crafty things to spruce the house up. I remember all sorts of paper ghosts and pumpkins gracing tables and being hung from the ceiling in our house. And then somehow, the house always smelled of spices like cinnamon (I am remembering a certain electric potpourri pot in the kitchen that likely contributed to that). Maybe it is no real surprise that this time of year is a time when I start to settle in, decorate, celebrate, and yes create new things.

Aside from the reclamation of the dining area, my office is the next order of business. I did take time this evening to try to figure out what is wrong with my monitor and desktop computer. Of course, this resulted in figuring out that whatever the issue is, it is unusable for me now. So, I cleared it away from the desktop to make room for notes from research. Oh the research this new series entails for me is going to be rather insane. So, I suppose the extra space is a necessity. I’m just glad that we bought Atreyu (my laptop) because I would have no workstation right now without him.

I don’t know what else will come about this weekend. Hubby will help with Operation Dining Nook Reclamation this weekend. So, I plan to get some serious work-time in on the series while it is just me at the house for much of the day. Sometimes, the solitude can be a good thing.

About Samantha Tiner

Researcher, Speaker, & Author of Speculative Supernatural Suspense Fiction.

Posted on September 12, 2012, in Observations, The Writer's Life, Things That Make Me Happy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. First of all Atreyu?!! I loved The Neverending Story!! I am super pumped about Halloween also.. Im living in one of my mom’s rent houses and it is run down and scary on its own.. im nervous to do any more decorating.. Im already that weird lady that lives alone with her cat in the spooky house with the overgrown lawn!! HAHA!! I love your blog!! Keep in touch!

    • The Neverending Story was a favorite as a kid. So, it just made sense that I give my neverending story companion that name. I just wish I could find a sticker or something of the Auryn to put on the back of it. Spooky houses are awesome in my book. I say embrace the weirdness! Normal is overrated anyway!

Leave a comment